google-site-verification: googleac31132f3d1837d9.html

Blog Post Content

SSR Announces New Board Members and Officers


Smith Seckman Reid, Inc. (SSR), a leader among engineering firms in designing, consulting, and commissioning projects, is pleased to announce the appointment of Jon Ross, PE, and Susan Osterberg to the SSR Board of Directors.

“SSR has benefited greatly from Susan’s and Jon’s leadership and commitment,” said Rob Barrick, Chairman of the Board. “They have both made a positive difference for our colleagues and clients.  I am delighted that their contribution has been widely recognized and to have them involved at the Board level in setting the future direction of our firm.”

Following graduation, Jon Ross, PE, joined SSR’s Nashville office in 1981. After serving for a couple of years in a variety of electrical engineering roles, he was chosen to be the lead electrical engineer in the firm’s Houston office. Following a decade of service in Houston, Jon returned to Nashville where he has continued to take on leadership roles, serving as Operations Manager and now Program Director of the firm’s Building Solutions Program.

Jon graduated from Vanderbilt University with a Bachelor of Engineering degree in Electrical Engineering and is a registered professional engineer in 13 states. In his spare time, he can be found at his rural riverfront cabin in West Tennessee enjoying the outdoors. Jon and his wife have a grown son.

Susan Osterberg joined SSR in 2011 as Vice President of Human Resources and in 2015 she was promoted to Chief Administrative Officer. She has overseen a variety of corporate functions including organizational development, recruiting, employee benefits, compensation, internal communications, training and development, and community involvement. Susan has also taken on additional duties as part of the management team, including facilitating operational restructuring and strategic planning.

In her role as CAO, Susan has encouraged collaboration between the different support groups and focused on fostering increased employee engagement, organizational development, and leadership succession planning.

Susan received her Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communications and Business from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota. She prides herself on giving back and spending her time outside of SSR doing meaningful activities. Much of her free time has been spent volunteering in various positions for her son’s extracurricular activities.

SSR’s Board of Directors is comprised of five internal and four external individuals from the AEC, medical, and business communities of Middle Tennessee. It is the Board’s responsibility to provide counsel and guidance in the direction and operation of SSR. The Board members are: Rob Barrick (Chairman), Steve Lane, Tim Priddy, Marty Dickens, David Gaboury, Louis Benjamin “Ben” Houston, Jr., and Bruce Sullivan. Each Board member is elected annually by the firm’s employee stock ownership plan (ESOP).

Rob Barrick, PE: Rob came to SSR in the fall of 1974 as a mechanical engineer. By 1982, he was named head of the mechanical engineering department. Rob was tapped to start a branch office opened Houston, Texas, in 1984. In 1986, he returned to the corporate office as President and Chief Executive Officer. Rob has served on SSR’s Board since 1979 and as Chairman since 1995.

Steve Lane, PE, DEE: Steve joined SSR in 1978 and served for many years in a variety of operational leadership roles. In 2012, Steve was chosen to be the Chief Operating Officer. Steve was named a Fellow by the American Council of Engineering Companies. In 2008, the Tennessee Society of Professional Engineers named him “Outstanding Engineer of the Year” and he has also been designated as a Diplomat by the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. Steve began serving on SSR’s Board in 1988.

Tim Priddy, CPA: In 2001, Tim joined SSR as the firm’s Chief Financial Officer. Prior to joining SSR, Tim was Vice President of Financial Operations with Phycor, and Treasurer of ImageAmerica. He has served on SSR’s Board since 2013 and is the firm’s Treasurer (since 2001) and Secretary (2015).

Marty Dickens: Marty is the former AT&T Tennessee President. He currently serves as a founding board member and lead director of Avenue Bank, board member of Genesco, vice chair of the board of Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Tennessee, and chairman of the board of Harpeth Companies. He is currently Chairman of the Board at Belmont University. Marty joined SSR’s Board in 2016.

David Gaboury, PE: David is Terracon’s President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of the Board. Terracon is a 4,000-person employee-owned firm with 100 offices throughout the United States. David joined SSR’s Board in 2012.

Louis Benjamin “Ben” Houston, Jr., PE: Ben is the former Managing Director for TDIndustries, a 1,000 person, 100% ESOP owned mechanical contracting firm based in Dallas, Texas. Ben joined SSR’s Board in 2002.

Bruce Sullivan: Bruce currently serves as the Chief Financial Officer for American Graduate School of Management. Bruce is the former Managing Director of the Nashville office of Ernst & Young. Bruce joined SSR’s Board in 2004.

In late March, the Board of Directors voted on SSR’s Officers. The Officers also serve a one-year term. The Officers are: Rob Barrick (Chief Executive Officer), Steve Lane (President and Chief Operating Officer), Tim Priddy (Chief Financial Officer), and Susan Osterberg (Chief Administrative Officer).

About SSR

Smith Seckman Reid, Inc. (SSR) is an employee-owned corporation, headquartered in Nashville, Tennessee. Our firm is focused on providing engineering, commissioning, and technology services across the United States and around the world. Our services are of the highest quality, based on the in-depth experience and expertise of our engineers, consultants, and all our staff. To learn more, visit