google-site-verification: googleac31132f3d1837d9.html

Blog Post Content

2024-2025 Board of Directors


Entering its 56th year of business focused on innovation, growth, and exceptional client interaction, Smith Seckman Reid, Inc. (SSR) is pleased to announce its 2024/25 board of directors. The expertise of these internal and independent directors will support SSR in achieving its near-term goals and enriching the sustainability of the firm for years to come. 

SSR’s board comprises nine individuals: five internal directors and four independent directors. The board members are elected annually by the firm’s Trustee on behalf of its ESOP shareholders. The 2024/2025 board of directors have been chosen from the architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) field, manufacturing, energy, and business communities.  

“The Board of Directors plays a pivotal role in guiding our organization toward its strategic objectives, ensuring strong governance parties, and upholding the highest standards of accountability and transparency,” said Susan Osterberg, CEO and President of SSR. “Their collective expertise and oversight are instrumental in guiding our 100% ESOP-owned company toward sustained growth and creating long-term value for all colleague owners.” 

The 2024/25 Board of Directors are: 

Steve Lane, PE, BCEE, FACEC: Steve Lane has been with SSR for more than 45 years, serving in a variety of leadership positions. In 2023, he retired as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and currently serves as Chair of the Board. Under Steve’s leadership, SSR has expanded into new locations, acquired a medical equipment planning firm, demonstrated excellent financial results, and is currently executing its growth-oriented strategic plan. He has served on the board for over 30 years. 

Susan Osterberg: Susan Osterberg was named CEO and President in 2023, after a decade of leadership roles supporting SSR’s strategic initiatives and goals. As CEO and President, she is responsible for the overall strategy and operational results of the firm, providing day-to-day leadership that mirrors the mission and core values of the company. Susan joined SSR in 2011 as VP of Human Resources and was named Chief Operations Officer in 2021. She was elected to the board in 2017. 

Tim Priddy, CPA: In 2001, Tim Priddy joined SSR as Chief Financial Officer. In addition to overseeing the firm’s accounting and treasury functions, Tim is responsible for SSR’s risk management, real estate management, ESOP administration, and is actively involved in improving the company’s operational performance. In 2015, Tim led SSR’s transaction to become 100% ESOP owned and conversion to an S Corporation. He has served on SSR’s board since 2013. 

Mike Rogers, PE, LEED AP: Mike Rogers is SSR’s Chief Growth Officer (CGO), a role he assumed in 2021. As CGO, he is responsible for defining the firm’s overall vision and growth strategy including new markets, services, locations, and acquisitions and diversification. Prior to his role as CGO, Mike was SSR’s Sports and Entertainment Market Leader for nearly 18 years. His leadership has proved instrumental in establishing SSR as one of the top engineering firms in the sports and entertainment market. Mike was elected to the board in 2021. 

Jon Ross, PE: Jon Ross is the program director for the firm’s Vertical Business Unit, overseeing the operations of the MEP, technology, medical equipment, new building commissioning, building enclosure, and building optimization and sustainability practices. He is focused on optimizing the operations of each practice and integrating the services to find opportunities to work together to differentiate our service offerings. Jon has served on SSR’s board since 2017. 

David Gaboury, PE: David Gaboury is Terracon’s Chair Emeritus and former chairman of the board and CEO. He is a licensed professional engineer with more than 30 years of experience in environmental, geo-environmental, and water resource engineering. David joined SSR’s board in 2012 and was elected lead director in 2021. As lead director, he is responsible for coordinating the activities of the external directors and providing a focal point for the work and functions of these independent directors. David is based in Eagle, CO. 

Pat Priest: Pat Priest has extensive leadership experience in key operational, financial, and board roles of both public and private companies and community-based service organizations. Pat is currently a member of the board of directors of the Dallas Entrepreneur Center and the National Association of Corporate Directors. She is also a member of the Advisory Board of McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas. Pat joined SSR’s board in 2020. She is based in Dallas, TX. 

Joel Rood: Joel Rood has served as business advisor to CEO’s and operating boards desiring to transform their organizations to achieve optimum growth and profitability. In addition to SSR, Joel serves as a founding board member at Rantran Corporation, a start-up biotechnology company focused on developing therapeutics for neurodegenerative diseases. Joel and his wife are Cor Vitae members of the American Heart Association in North Carolina’s Raleigh-Durham metro area. Joel joined SSR’s board in 2019. He is based in Chapel Hill, NC. 

Jeff Tolnar: Based in Nashville, Jeff Tolnar has extensive leadership experience on boards and in c-suite executive positions. As a sought-after advisor, Jeff is currently the President of Shoals Technologies Group, a leading electrical balance of systems (EBOS) provider for solar, energy storage, and eMobility. In his role, he is responsible for company growth, operational success, technology development, and product innovation. Jeff joined SSR’s board in 2023. 

About SSR 

Smith Seckman Reid, Inc. is an employee-owned corporation (ESOP), headquartered in Nashville, Tenn. The firm provides engineering, commissioning, and technology services across the United States and around the world. The vast experience and in-depth expertise of its engineers, consultants and staff combined with its focus on making a positive difference for clients and communities have led to the firm’s recognition and growth since its establishment in 1968. To learn more, visit